Garden Fresh Chicken Zucchini Chili

It is that time of year… The sun is out and the air is warm. This means the beginning of an abundant amount of zucchini! When my plants first start producing I love it and I can’t wait to cook up all my zucchini! By Summers end I just want to rip my plants out. (That is just a little look into my love hate relationship with zucchini you can read more about it here)

This year I have decided to be more adventurous with my zucchini endeavors. I scoured the internet trying to find a chicken and zucchini stew idea. The mixture just sounded delicious. I knew I wanted to cook my zucchini with chicken in diced tomatoes I just wasn’t sure about what spices to use and I needed a little inspiration. Luckily you can find ANYTHING on Pinterest!

Healthy Chicken Zuccini Chili | Life in the Orchard

I came across a recipe called Chicken & Zucchini Chili from Eat Good 4 Life. It sounded PERFECT and then I saw the recipe an pictures and I knew I had t try it. There were a few things I had to change because I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand and of course I Made Do with what I had because I am avoiding the grocery store for a little while. Let me tell you this recipe turned out AMAZING! My father in law said it was the best thing I had cooked so far since we all decided to start eating healthier.

What you need!

  • 1 lb chicken breast
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 zucchinis, diced
  • 1 yellow squash, diced
  • 2 15 oz canned black beans
  • 28 oz can of fire roasted chopped tomatoes
  • 6 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, chopped
  • 14 oz can chicken broth low sodium
  • 6 oz can of tomato paste
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp Kosher Salt

1. Put your chicken breast in a large pot of water and boil until they are cooked through. While your chicken is boiling chop up your onion, zucchini, squash and chipotle chilies.

2. Once your chicken is cooked place on a cutting board and chop.

3. Sauté your onion in olive oil until thy become transparent. Add you zucchini and squash and cook until they start to brown. Add your chicken and the remaining ingredients and spices and continue to cook on medium heat for 20 minutes or reaches a consistency you like.

Chicken and Zuchini Chil

Cooking Tip: If the chili is thicker than you prefer add more chicken broth or water, if it to watery continue to cook until it cooks down to your liking.

We warmed up some whole wheat tortillas to eat with this chili and it was GOOD! We also had some tortilla chips to munch on with it. I would have been in heaven if I had avocado to eat with it to! Yum! Next time, for sure! This time I just topped with some garden fresh cilantro.

❤ Sarah

Shared on…

Featured On Thank You Honey

join-me-at-wow-me-wednesday-150x150

Do Tell Tuesday - Button

11 thoughts on “Garden Fresh Chicken Zucchini Chili

Leave a comment