Deliciously Simple Chicken Hummus Sandwich

I have been avoiding eating processed meats so my lunch menu has been a bit tricky. When I say tricky I really mean time-consuming. During the lunch rush at my house it is hard to have a good nutritious lunch so I need meals that are easy and quick or else I will end up eating less healthy alternatives. Grilled Chicken is great! I can grill a few chicken breast and have lunch ready for days. I usually use my grilled chicken for salads, burritos, pitas, tortilla rollups and like this recipe in a flatbread pocket thin. I had to start buying these “family size” containers of hummus because my family has been devouring it lately!

Deliciously Simple Chicken and Hummus Sandwich

If you pre grill your chicken this recipes takes less the 5 minutes to throw together. It is super easy and delicious. One of these sandwiches is right out 300 calories. This recipe makes two sandwiches. I normally need two to get filled up but you can also sub one for an apple or something if you really want to watch your calories.

This is a lighter alternative to a cold cut sandwich. The hummus is better for you and less fattening than mayonnaise. This flatbread pocket thin has fewer calories and more fiber and protein for you then what sandwich bread. The chicken breast has less sodium then most packaged lunch meats. And pile on those veggies and you are in good shape!

What you will need

  • 1 grilled chicken breast chopped (I seasoned mine with pepper and garlic powder)
  • 1/2 tomato chopped
  • 1 c of shredded lettuce
  • Roasted garlic hummus
  • 2 Flatbread pocket thins

Chicken and VeggiesSpread a thin layer of hummus on the inside of your pocket thin and then it is ready to assemble. These pocket thins are so moist you don’t need a lot of hummus. Layer in your chicken, lettuce and tomatoes.

Flatbread Pocket Thin

Hummus Flatbread Sandwich

This can be mixed up however your heart desires. Here are a few alternatives I like!

  • Sautéed onions and bell peppers and grilled chicken
  • Grilled chicken, lettuce, fresh salsa and avocado
  • Brown rice, grilled chicken and lettuce tossed in a light Caesar dressing
  • Grilled chicken, brown rice, black beans, lettuce, tomatoes and salsa

Yum, Yum, Yum! I just love these easy lunch ideas!

If you have an easy lunch idea feel free to add your link in my comments section! I love new recipes.

❤ Sarah

2 thoughts on “Deliciously Simple Chicken Hummus Sandwich

  1. Looks tasty! Those pita pockets are awesome! Great for people packing lunches who need to eat in the car too!

    You should try making your hummus from scratch. I have a recipe somewhere if you want me to email it to you. I loved it!

Leave a Reply

