Is It Gardening Time Yet?

It is finally February which means that I can legitimately start thinking about my garden and make some concrete plans. What’s weird is that the past couple of days have been some of the coldest so I’m not as much in the gardening mood as I was a week or two ago when it was 70 degrees out! But none the less it’s that time again.

What is great about gardening is every year is a learning opportunity. Each Spring I get a little to excited and over plant. Then in the middle of Summer my poor planter boxes are over flowing and I get burnt out. I have gotten better, it’s so hard to not get over excited when the air gets a bit warmer and the sun just seems brighter.

This year I am going to try my hand at lettuce, spinach, broccoli and cabbage. I have never grown these vegetables before so this should be fun. I typically grow a salsa garden as I like to call it. It consist of tomatoes, jalapenos, bell peppers, cucumbers, zucchini, green beans and squash. The first garden I ever grew made me feel like a super star because it was zucchini and tomatoes and everything took off. It was a good introduction to gardening that’s for sure, two of the easiest things to grow.

Garden Harvest

Here is my spring schedule:

  1. FEBRUARY– Green Beans (by seed), Broccoli, Cabbage, Lettuce, Spinach
  2. MARCH– Carrots (seed)
  3. EARLY APRIL– Cucumber (seed), Peppers (hot & sweet), Squash & Zucchini (seed), Tomatoes (cherry, roma, beef steak) Okra
  4. MAY– Pumpkins, Watermelon (only if I can find a Sunny enough spot)

I guess I need to hurry up and get my garden beds ready!

❤ Sarah

Leave a Reply

