Parenting is HARD!

Just so it’s clear this picture is my oldest son. It is not staged, it was just a regular afternoon out in the back yard. I said smile for the camera and that is what he gave me! Priceless.

Parenting is Hard

This past week our schedule has been totally out of whack. I had a really good run. It seemed like I had everything under control and then something happened. The problem is I have absolutely no idea what that something is. That is one of the joys of parenting.

As soon as you feel like you have things figured out those little people with minds of their own decide to switch it up. Let me give you an example. My youngest son has had a pretty strong routine for a few weeks. Wake up at 7am nap from 1 to 3pm down for the night at 8:30pm. I loved it. It was consistent and everyone was happy. THEN all of a sudden he decided to start waking up at 6:30am nap at 11am, for maybe an hour, and then try to nap again in the LATE afternoon and not go down to bed until 9pm. In the meantime he has several periods during the day when he is just exhausted and grumpy and really just not that fun to be around.

So I ask myself, what happened?

He is probably teething.

He is probably is going through a growth spurt.

He is probably waking up early because he is hungry.

My husband probably woke him when he was getting ready for work.

Maybe he was to hot/cold in his crib.

I could go on and on with all the ideas of what caused the change in routine. Maybe one of the ideas is right, maybe not. I just always want to know WHY. What happened?? What cause everything to go crazy? I have been known to scour the internet for answers. There aren’t any though. What works for one kid won’t work for another. What works today probably won’t work tomorrow.

That’s parenting for you. Right when you have everything “figured” out these little people throw you a curve ball.

Those curve balls can really mess you up in the head! One day you will feel like a mess. You feel like you have no control of your little ones. You may even feel like a failure. Then the next day everything is great. You’re happy and the kids are actually napping and you are finally getting a chance to catch up on laundry and house cleaning. You may even be lucky enough to sneak in an episode of The Real Housewives or whatever your favorite show is. You might even have a couple of days in a row like this.

Here my sons are teaming up on me refusing to eat lunch... it's mac and cheese!?! I mean, come on!!

Here my sons are teaming up on me refusing to eat lunch… it’s mac and cheese!?! I mean, come on!!

Some people around me feel bipolar because as a stay at home mom (probably a working moms to!) you just feel like life is hectic and literally one minute you can be snuggling and playing with your kids and feel like you are on cloud 9. Then something happens and your mommy monster sneaks out.  You suddenly forget about all the good moments you have had and feel terrible. I try to tell people that it’s not that they are bipolar it’s simply being a mom.

This is why you won’t see parenting tips on this blog… I have NONE! All I have is compassion for other moms. I hear stories about moms doing crazy, terrible and very sad things to themselves and their kids. Before being a mom I was shocked and wanted bad things to those moms. Now I feel sad and cry for those moms. How alone they must have been. This is why every mom needs a strong support system. My girlfriends and I say we don’t want to just get through these years we want to enjoy them.

Parenting is down right hard! Days can be looooong. But as I just put my kids to bed I forget why it was so hard. All the little things that irked me are forgotten.

❤ Sarah

7 thoughts on “Parenting is HARD!

  1. First of all, I couldn’t agree more!! I have, countless times, felt EXTREMELY bi-polar parenting…. My feelings are high one minute and down the next. A strong support system is definitely a MUST! 🙂 Secondly, I also feel bad for those moms (and the kids they hurt). I think post partum depression, coupled with all of the lonely/sad/frustrating moments, makes motherhood so ridiculously difficult. Without that support system and openness to talk about our feelings, we would all be a hot mess. And thank you for the link to my blog! I appreciate it. 🙂

    • No problem for the link I love your blog! I love forwarding your post to my girlfriends. I couldn’t imagine going through these years with out my closest girlfriends. I’d probably end up in depression. Depression after having a baby seems crazy hard its already difficult having a new baby in the house and then add depression, I couldn’t even imagine!

      • I definitely appreciate it. 🙂 And yes, depression is extremely difficult! I had PPD after the birth of my second child and that is something I would never wish on anyone. 😦 I don’t know what I would’ve done without my best friend and my husband. We all need support at times! 🙂

  2. Yeah, sometimes I am happy my biggest problems with my kids is shedding. LOL! I can’t believe the no mac and cheese mutiny! Sorry, but as a non-mom, that’s HILARIOUS. More that they are doing it the exact same way than anything else! It cracks me up.

    • Shedding is a very annoying problem to have though! Ya the little one copies EVERYTHING big brother does… The good bad and ugly. It’s cute and annoying at the same time. I couldn’t even be mad that day it was just to cute.

  3. I loved this post. I am so grateful to be a parent and I try to enjoy every single day. It’s still nice to have other moms say out loud what you’re thinking but to scared to admit….Lol! Your son is going to kill you later on life when he sees this picture of him picking his nose….Lol…..I love it.

Leave a Reply

