Honey Lime Skewers… A Tasty Dinner Fail

I saw these Honey Lime Skewers on Pinterest and I knew I had to make them. Ashley’s picture of them made my mouth water! My chicken did not end up looking as delicious as hers because I ran into a few issues. I spent so much time working on this recipe, I cut my chicken up, marinated my meat, cut my veggies up and then sat down and stuck everything on the skewers. I was so proud of my skewers they looked like heaven. Then we take them over to my in-laws to barbecue and we find out there is a wasp nest in the barbecue! I hate wasp!!

Ok, no problem my husband cleared those pest out. Then we find out they were out of propane. It was becoming clear that it was not meant to be for us to barbecue these chicken skewers. So I sat there pulling all the veggies and chicken off the skewers and into a pan with canola oil to be sautéed. I was so sad!! Not only because I wasted so much energy on these darn skewers but because I was craving barbecued chicken.

Thankfully they still tasted AMAZING. We ate the chicken over a bowl of garlic brown rice. Mmmm this was one of those meals I could eat daily.

I found the recipe over at Kitchen Meets Girl. She has tons of great recipes.  I am sure I will be making more from her. Usually when I come across a recipe I end up tweaking it a bit. This recipe was one I didn’t change a single thing although I did decide to throw some veggies on the skewers.

What you need.

  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • juice of one lime
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1-2 teaspoon Siracha
  • red pepper flakes, to taste
  • 2 tablespoon cilantro
  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • 3 bell peppers sliced into 1 inch pieces (red, orange, green)
  • 1 large red onion sliced into 1 inch pieces
  • Bamboo Skewers

1. Mix all your ingredients from the soy sauce to cilantro in a bowl and set aside.

Marinade

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. Cut up your chicken into 1 inch pieces. Then place them in a plastic bag with your marinade for about an hour.

3. Soak your skewers in water for about 15 minutes to avoid burning them.

4. Stick your chicken, bell peppers and onion onto your skewers. Rotating the arrangement. I just love all the colors.

VeggiesHoney Lime Chicken Kabob

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Barbecue your chicken skewers until the chicken is cooked through.

It was so chaotic at dinner time I forgot to take a picture so I will show you what Ashley’s looked like. Now you know why my mouth was watering!

chicken-skewers-title

I hope you all enjoy this recipe as much as I did. Whether you cooked it on the grill or sautéed it!

Anyone else have a chaotic dinner in the past week???

❤ Sarah

2 thoughts on “Honey Lime Skewers… A Tasty Dinner Fail

Leave a Reply

