Healthy Slow Cooker Fajitas

If you have been following me you know that a little over a week ago my father in law had 2 heart attacks in one night and then had to have open heart surgery a day later. This was an eye-opening experience for all of us. Especially when it comes to how we take care of ourselves. My father in laws mother died immediately after having open heart surgery so it’s not a matter of if my husband will deal with heart issues it’s when. Maybe I shouldn’t be so dramatic about it but I am worried and feel like we need to work very hard at keeping ourselves healthy.

I am the type of person that can get fixated or obsessed with something once I get my mind on it. So of course for the past week I have been a little obsessive about our meals. No added salt, everything fresh, nothing from a box (unless it’s a grain), very little sugar I am sure you get the idea. I won’t be this obsessive forever although it’s not a bad thing to obsess over. Not to mention I am meal planning, grocery shopping and cooking not just for my household but for my in-laws as well, so I really have to watch what we are eating.

I am sure I will be posting a lot of healthy and delicious recipes in the future. If I find something that is just scrumptious I have to share. I can’t keep these types of things to myself!

So here I am sharing!! I downloaded Healthy Slow Cooker Cookbook by American Heart Association. They have some great recipes and so far they have been super easy and affordable! Flank steak fajitas was the first recipe I made and it was a BIG hit. My father in law said to put it at the top of the list, it was so good. I altered a few things, here you go I hope you make it and enjoy it as much as my family did!

What you need for the slow cooker part of the meal

  • 2ts canola oil
  • 2 medium onions, sliced
  • 1ts ground cumin
  • 1ts chili powder
  • ½ ts garlic powder
  • ¼ ts pepper
  • 1 ½ lbs of flank steak (I used top sirloin)
  • 3 medium to large tomatoes, chopped

Slow Cooker Prep

First, sauté your onions in 1ts of canola oil until they start to soften. While that is happening you can mix all of your spices together (cumin thru pepper) and rub onto all sides of your meat. When the onions are done place them in the slow cooker. Add the remaining 1ts of canola oil to your sauté pan and brown both sides of your meat. Then place your meat on top of your onions in your slow cooker. Lastly place your chopped tomatoes on top of your meat and you are ready to cook. Cook on low for 4-6 hours or on high like I did for 2-3 hours.

shredded steak

When the meat is done cooking you can shred it directly in your slow cooker or you can remove it and shred. My meat literally fell apart it was so tender so I didn’t need to remove it from the pot. If you feel up to it you can drain some of the juice out of the pot so it is easier to serve.

Once your meat is done you can leave it in your warm slow cooker and start prepping the toppings. (Don’t forget to turn your slow cooker off!)

What you need for your toppings

  • 2 ts canola oil
  • 2 green bell peppers sliced lengthwise
  • 1 red bell pepper sliced lengthwise
  • 1 orange bell pepper sliced lengthwise
  • 1 avocado sliced
  • ½ c mexican shredded cheese
  • 3tb of snipped fresh cilantro
  • 7-8 whole wheat tortillas

Sauté your bell peppers in the canola oil until they are browned and tender. (Try not to over cook; you don’t want mushy bell peppers) While you are working on the bell peppers you can get your avocado and cilantro prepped.

And finally warm your tortillas and layer on the goodies and enjoy!

steak fajita

This fed 5 adults and two little ones picked at the meat and had quesadillas. One fajita is just less than 400 calories without cheese and was enough to fill me up; my husband was good off of two.

This meal cost $17 not counting the spices and oil, because those are things I always have on hand. It may seem expensive but it fed 7 people. At $2.43 a person I consider that a steal. If you are a smaller household it would be great for lunch the next day!

I would LOVE to hear how this recipe turned out for you!

❤ Sarah

 

4 thoughts on “Healthy Slow Cooker Fajitas

Leave a Reply

