Vanilla Latte Made At Home

Back in the day before I moved to the boonies I use to LOVE Starbucks. I worked for AT&T for many years and if you ever noticed they are almost always located right by a Starbucks so you can only imagine how many vanilla lattes and caramel macchiatos I have had over the last 10 years. About a year ago I decided that just because I live in the boonies doesn’t mean I can’t enjoy a good espresso. So I of course went on to Amazon and bought myself a little stovetop espresso maker. My parents make espresso at home pretty frequently so I was familiar with the process but never had a reason to make them myself. Until of course I moved out to the country and was living off one income so a daily $4 espresso was just not an option.

Stovetop Espresso Maker

Stovetop Espresso Maker

Cheapo ground espresso and Starbucks vanilla syrup
Cheapo ground espresso and Starbucks vanilla syrup

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I did a lot of research online trying to find the best recipes. I came Starbucks website that listed every single drink they have on their menu and how to make it. All of the measurements for every size drink. I could not believe they were just giving away their secrets. So I learned how to make my favorite espresso drinks a vanilla latte and a caramel macchiato. I went online today to try to find that page on Starbucks website but I had no luck. I was going to try to pass on the secret. Sorry! I don’t know if they got rid of it or if I just couldn’t find it. Thank goodness I haven’t forgotten how to make my favorite drinks.

First I want to show you how easy it is to make espresso with a handy stovetop espresso maker. They are super affordable compared to other espresso makers. I bought mine for like 12 bucks. Super cheap!

Stovetop Espresso Make Apart

Stovetop Espresso Maker Taken Apart

First, fill the bottom portion with cold water. Do not fill over the little copper circle, that’s the steam valve.

Fill With Water

Next, fill your filter basket with your ground espresso and place it into your bottom piece. I used the cheapest espresso, someday I might become a coffee snob and pay more. But for now the $4 can hits the spot.

Fill With Espresso

Lastly screw your top part on. Don’t screw it on super tight, just until it is closed. Then go ahead and put it on your stovetop and wait until it is no longer bubbling. Your house will smell like a coffee shop, its great.

Ready To Go

Now your espresso is ready. Go ahead and make yourself a fancy drink or just take a shot of it straight. That is totally up to you. No judgment here.

If you want to make a fancy drink I have a couple of recipes for you that I use regularly.

ICED VANILLA LATTE

Vanilla Latte

What you need…3 pumps vanilla syrup, 2 shots of espresso, about a cup of milk and ice.

I take my glass add my pumps of Vanilla (I use Starbucks vanilla syrup with a pump it cost about $10 but it has last me almost a year!) then add my shots of espresso and milk. Stir and then add my ice and enjoy!

ICED UPSIDE-DOWN CARAMEL MACCHIATOThis is easy… It is exactly the same as a vanilla latte except you add caramel syrup!

ICED AMERICANA

064

What you need…2 Shots espresso, water and ice.

Pour your shots and add about a cup and a half of cold water. I usually add a little milk and sugar and enjoy. This is a great treat without making you feel to full.

I hope this helps you realize that making your own lattes and espresso drinks is not as hard as it seems. They may not taste as delicious as a drink coming straight from Starbucks but keeping a little extra cash in my pocket is pretty enjoyable!

❤ Sarah

V

 

 

 

 

Saving $$

7 thoughts on “Vanilla Latte Made At Home

Leave a Reply

