J is for Jalapeno

I can’t get enough Jalapenos.  But every year I typically grow more than I can use up. This year I planted 5 jalapeno plants. And let me tell you I cannot wait for them to start producing!

Jalapeno Plant006

 

 

 

 

 

 

I use my Jalapenos in a number of ways

  • Salsa
  • Canning Pickled Jalapenos
  • I freeze them for stews & Chili Beans
  • Pepper Jam- sounds weird but it’s a big hit!
  • Bacon wrapped jalapeno appetizers

And anything else that needs a little heat! Each plant typically produces a large amount of peppers, so I will be set. They are pretty easy to grow to, but there are a few things to keep in mind.

  1. They are not fast growers so start seeds indoors a month or more before your last frost date. Or do as I do and buy your plants already started at a local nursery.
  2. Peppers love sunlight so make sure they are getting a good amount of sun daily. Most articles I have read recommend 6 to 8 hours.
  3. Peppers like many other vegetable plants love soil with good drainage. You don’t want soil that is allowing puddles of water to build up.
  4. The plant leaves should allow for proper shade for the peppers but sometimes the peppers will get “sun burned” the peppers will have white papery spots. If I see this happening I will usually just cut that pepper off.
  5. Make sure that as your plants produce peppers you are picking them. This encourages your plants to keep producing. My pepper plants typically produce well into fall.

Pepper Plants

Fun Fact: Jalapenos got their name from the city Jalapa in Mexico. This is supposedly where the Jalapeno originated. (According to eHow)

❤ Sarah

J

 

Leave a Reply

