Red Sauce Enchiladas

Years ago I threw together beef enchiladas and My husband and I loved them but I never made them again. I don’t know why because I have thought about them a lot since then. When I went grocery shopping last week I bought a big pack of tortillas not realizing that I had a 30 pack already waiting at home to be used. (See what happens when I go shopping without a list!) So I knew what I had to make to use up some of those tortillas… ENCHILADAS!

What you need.

  • 1lb ground meat (I used Venison but you can use beef or turkey)
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 tb oil or butter
  • 1 tb taco seasoning
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 7 oz can of diced green chillies
  • 1 10oz can red enchilada sauce
  • 8 oz colby jack cheese, shredded (you can also use sharp, mild or even pepper jack)
  • flour tortillas

002

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#1. Saute your onions in your oil until they are softened and start becoming transparent. While you are doing this you can start warming up your tortillas one by one. I do mine by cooking them in a non stick frying pan without oil. I cook them until they begin to brown.

004005

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#2. Add your ground meat to your onion mixture and add your taco seasoning and salt and pepper. Cook until it is completely browned. (At this point you may need to drain your meat depending on the fat content, I didn’t because venison is very lean) Once it is done add your corn, beans and green chilies.

007

#3. At this point my pan was to small so I transferred the ground meat mixture into a large bowl and added about a fifth of the can of enchilada sauce and mixed it up. Now we can begin to assemble our enchiladas. Take one tortilla lay it out and add 2 spoonful’s of your meat mixture and top with cheese. Roll it up and repeat until your pan is full.

008 009

 

 

 

 

 

 

#4. When your pan is full you can pour the remainder of your enchilada sauce evenly over the enchiladas. Now sprinkle the rest of the cheese over the enchiladas.

011 012

 

 

 

 

 

 

#5 When you are ready you can pop them in the oven pre heated to 350 degrees. I cooked mine for just under 30 minutes. You can pull your out as soon as the enchiladas are bubbly and the cheese is melted.

019

If you like the idea of making enchiladas you should try my Chicken Enchiladas.

❤ Sarah

 

 

5 thoughts on “Red Sauce Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

