March Baby Step Update

As I sit here writing this post I cant help but be excited. We are one step closer to being done with Dave Ramsey’s baby step #2.

This terribly annoying student loan is long gone and I wont EVER look back! It was a $6000 loan with only 2% interest but it felt like it was the hardest debt to get rid of. I felt for a long time that it was no big deal because it was “good” debt and it had such a low-interest rate. They…whoever they is… make the student loan repayment program to last your entire life. The payments are so low that if you don’t get down and dirty with your payments you’ll never pay it off. I’m exaggerating of course but they really do last forever.

I sent my final payment for $1624.78! Woooo Hoooo! I have had this nasty Sallie Mae account for 10 years!!!! Can you believe that?

So the good news is it’s finally paid off and long gone. Want to know the bad news?? I never finished school. 😦 I started making money and wasn’t interested any more in school. I never enjoyed it. At this point of my life I long to go back to school. I know I’ll go back in the next few years when the time is right.

I know every time I write about money I go on and on about how much I love the Dave Ramsey baby step program but I can’t help it. My husband and I have made huge leaps financially in the last few months because of it and of course following a budget has helped a lot. In the past we would have come across our tax refund or any other lump sum of money and blown it on toys or something. But this year we have been extremely responsible and diligent with our money. I cannot wait for the day that my husband and I can call into his program and do our debt free scream! I listen to Dave’s program almost daily and I always get emotional when I hear other families debt free stories. It’s amazing to hear people take control of their lives. It is so freeing.

Next debt to payoff: $1,567.44 in a truck loan

❤ Sarah

10 thoughts on “March Baby Step Update

  1. Sarah, that is so wonderful and exciting! I’m half tempted to make you call me for a debt free scream! HA! Man those things make me get all teary every time! Getting through it is an inspiration for all of us!

    Congrats on kicking Sallie Mae out! 😀

  2. So awesome that you kicked the Sally Mae debt!!!! awesome 🙂 I love the Dave Ramsey show and listen to it via podcast all the time. It is so motivating to hear people do their debt free screams 🙂 !!

  3. Wow, you sound just like me! I’m still paying on a Sallie Mae loan (2200K left to pay off) and I didn’t finish school either. I made enough money not having a degree (back before the economy crashed), but I will be going back to school in the summer for my Associate in Health Science. Honestly, I just didn’t know what I wanted to do with myself then (I went to culinary school only to realize I couldn’t take the heat)–all I’ve ever wanted to do is write. Congrats on paying off that loan–I’m sure paying that big chunk hurt, but at the same time, I’m sure it was a very freeing feeling. We used to blow our tax refund on fun stuff, but this year, it was just playing catch-up (has been since my husband got cut from 40 hours a week to 30).

    • Looking back I should have not gone to college right after high school. It would have been better to take 2 years off and work and figure out what I really wanted to do.

      Ya it was hard sending that hunk of money but it felt good to finally be done with that old b**** Sallie 🙂 I think it was harder for my husband to let go of the cash because it wasn’t “our” debt it was mine from way back when. At least that tax refund was there to help out when you needed it!!

Leave a Reply

