Simple Chicken & Biscuit Dinner

I love chicken pot pie. I have perfected a semi homemade version of it. But even that version takes some effort because I make my own pie crust and I HATE making pie crust. So when I am craving something similar and want something that really hits the spot and meets my comfort food cravings I make an alternative version of chicken pot pie. This version has biscuits on top of the pie filling. Yummm it’s good.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breast
  • 2 cups mixed frozen vegetables (I use peas, carrots, corn & green beans)
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup
  • 1 can cream of mushroom soup
  • 1/3 cup of milk
  • 1 tsp poultry seasoning
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 can refrigerated biscuits

First step boil your chicken until it is thoroughly cooked and no longer pink in the center. Then you will chop the chicken up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERANow take your frozen vegetables and toss them into a bowl with your chopped up chicken.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s now time to add your canned soups, milk and seasoning and stir it up. Next step is to pour it into your baking dish. I used a 8×8 glass dish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is the fun part… ok just kidding it’s so not fun because cans of biscuits never just pop like they are supposed to. I always have to let out some aggression and slam the can against my counter to get it to pop open. (So maybe this is the fun part after all!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once you FINALLY get that can of biscuits open go ahead and place them on top of your chicken mixture. It is now time to place you dinner in the oven at 350. Bake for about 30 minutes. Take out and place foil over the top of your dish and bake for another 10 – 20 minutes, this allows your biscuits to continue to cook without burning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

TIP: depending on your oven your biscuits may need more or less time. On a few occasions my biscuits have been a little doughy underneath and I have had flip the biscuits over and cook uncovered for 10 to 15 minutes. I have heard of people baking their biscuits and filling separately then eating them together to avoid any issues with doughy biscuits.

❤ Sarah

 

Leave a Reply

