Homemade Classic White Frosting

I made cupcakes over the weekend for a birthday party and I feel the need to share the frosting recipe because it is so delicious. I have to say since taking cake decorating classes and getting a KitchenAid mixer I RARELY buy canned frosting. It was a bit of trial and error finding the perfect frosting recipe but I finally found it. This recipe is a big hit every time I make it. I believe the secret is the almond extract.

Classic White Frosting

1c Shortening

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp almond extract

1lb powdered sugar

2-3 tbs milk

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Blend shortening and extracts together. Alternate adding small amounts of powdered sugar and milk until they gone.

What I love about this recipe besides it tasting so good is that I can add any frosting dye to get the color I want. I am pretty sure I found this recipe from a Better Homes and Gardens special interest publication a few years ago.

When I make cupcakes I prefer to pipe my frosting on. This uses much more frosting then just spreading it on with a knife but it looks more professional this way.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Classic White Frosting

❤ Sarah

2 thoughts on “Homemade Classic White Frosting

Leave a Reply

