Homemade 1st Birthday Presents

I LOVE homemade gifts. I love giving them and I love receiving them. With 2 birthdays in 2 days, I have been a little busy. It’s one of my best friends daughters 1st birthday. I knew I wanted to make her wood abc blocks. I have been working on these dang blocks for weeks. I had to sand each individual block. I am tired of sanding at this point! But after sanding for 2 weeks and 2 days of staining and mod podging paper squares and letters onto each block… I AM DONE!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like them but I do wish I would have used patterned paper instead of solid. I made 26 blocks and all 4 sides have letters on them. There is a 2 sets of capital letters and 2 sets of lower case letters.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was my brother-in-laws girlfriends sons 1st birthday as well. He decided to do dinner and cake for the little guy so I had to make him a little something to. I had extra blocks so I made him a set with his name on them. I didn’t paint or stain them before I mod podged the paper and letters on. I just didn’t have time, but I actually think it looks really good. I used patterned paper and I think it looks better than the solid. I made him 6 blocks with each block having a letter from his name on all sides.

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I made these blocks using the exact method I used to make my Valentine Wood Blocks.

I plan on making alphabet blocks to sell, who knows when they will be ready it is a very time-consuming project.

Love,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

