Chasing A Dream

Remember when you were a kid and you wanted to be an astronaut or something else that now seems so far-fetched? Why as adults do we lose the ability to think we can do or be anything?

Lately I have been pondering this question a lot. For the past few months I have started to feel like whatever I want out of life I can have. If I want something I can make it happen. I have had the feelings of being a kid and believing that I can be anything I want to be. I used to feel this way but after becoming a mom my needs and dreams just haven’t been a priority.

What is so weird is that to be a good mom and wife you have to put yourself first. If I’m not taking care of me how can I take care of anyone else? So in the past 2 months I have been really trying to make sure I am making time in my day for me. For right now this means pursuing my crafting and blogging.

I remember as a kid making my crafts and selling them at school. I was such a little entrepreneur. Then I decided to set up a booth at my town’s farmers market to sell my crafts. I borrowed one of my grandpa’s yard sell tables and went out there like I owned the place and sold my crafts. I was probably in 6th or 7th grade at the time. I wasn’t afraid or scared that people wouldn’t like my things. I was so confident. I love that my parents were so supportive. They are pretty amazing.

Now as an adult I decided to channel that 12 year old girl and start selling my crafts. I am still in the process of making something’s to sell online, I can’t wait. Right now it’s not about money; it’s about creating something and someone getting joy out of it. Don’t get me wrong getting paid to craft is a pretty exciting thought. I gave myself a timeline to get my business up and running and I’m reaching my deadline. Looks like I need a bigger fire under my butt or I need to hire a babysitter and a cook!

One of my best friends who also happens to my sister in law has really inspired me to do what I love. She had a story in her head and started writing… Now she has published her second book. It started as a hobby and now it has become a job. It’s exciting to see her have such success with something that she is having fun doing. If you are a reader, you should check out her out. You can find her here.

What do we have to lose by chasing our dreams?

❤ Sarah

4 thoughts on “Chasing A Dream

  1. As a kid, I wanted to be so many things. I remember wanting to be a “beauty shopper” (hairdresser). I’ve always known I wanted to be a writer, but it wasn’t till I was 32 I knew what I wanted my career to be (until I become a famous author, anyway). At seventeen, I thought just because I liked to cook, I should be a chef. I soon realized I couldn’t take the heat, and needed to stay out of the kitchen. It’s one thing to cook for family and friends, and even cater for a restaurant, but another entirely to cook to order.

  2. The season 9 episode 16 of How I Met Your Mother talked about somethign similar. Someone asked “What do you want to be in 5 years? It’s doesn’t matter how likely it is…what is it?” After she answered he said “Then, every choice and every decision you make from RIGHT NOW forward needs to be a way to get you to that goal.”

    It really stuck in my head, and I’m thinking it’ a great way to look at a goal that might seem unreachable.

Leave a Reply

