Chile Verde Burritos

Not sure what hit me when I made my meal plan for the week but I decided to make homemade Chile Verde. It was delicious but man, it wasn’t the quickest thing to whip up. I made my Chile Verde with goat stew meat because that is what I had on hand. It was really a super cheap meal because I already had the meat. It cost me under $5 to make and that is including the rice I served with it. Not to mention that there is plenty left over for a 2nd nights dinner. I am thinking Rice Bowls topped with Chile Verde. We topped our burritos off with mozzarella cheese, avocado, cabbage and lime…. Mmmmmm

The recipe for the Chile Verde is from http://www.simplyrecipes.com/recipes/chile_verde/

Chile Verde Burritos

The rice I made to go with the Chile Verde is very simple. It’s a white Spanish rice.

  • 1Tb of oil
  • 1 yellow onion chopped
  • 1 1/2c white rice
  • 1 7oz can of dice green chilies
  • 3c chicken broth

Heat your oil and add your onion. Cook the onion until it is transparent. Add rice, green chilies and chicken broth and bring to a boil. Then cover and cook on low for 20 minutes. *Sometimes I leave out the green chilies if I don’t have them on hand.

We also had chips with what I will call homemade “winter” salsa. I call it that because its made with almost all ingredients from my pantry versus ingredients fresh from my garden. It’s very good though! My recipe makes a good size batch for a party or throw it in the fridge and have it on hand all week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • 2 cans of diced tomatoes
  • 5 pickled jalapeños
  • 1ts garlic powder
  • 1ts kosher salt
  • cilantro to your tasting

I threw all the ingredients into my nutriblast and puree it. It is best to let it sit for a few hours in the fridge before serving this allows you flavors to develop.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Happy eating!

❤ Sarah

Leave a Reply

