Learning How To Coupon

As I am learning more about couponing I am figuring out that my expectations were to high.

Here are a few things I have earned.

  1. Most “couponers” still pay for things, they get great deals but not everything is FREE– I thought with coupons you would be stocking up your closets with lots of FREE things. As I have done research that is just not the norm.
  2. When couponers tell you their FINAL price for an item, it can be a little misleading- An example would be buying 3 tubes of crest toothpaste at target and you get a $5 give card. When these couponers give you their final price they subtract that $5 from what they actually paid. But in actuality that money will go towards their next purchase. YES they are still getting that $5 but not exactly right then and there off that product as I had thought when I would see their final price. And if you are on a tight budget looking for deals you may not have the extra $5 to put out right then on an item that isn’t a need at that moment.
  3. You have to be REALLY organized to make couponing work for you
  4. If you are nice to your cashier they will be more than eager to help you out AND possibly give you MORE coupons. A cashier recently gave my a $5 off coupon out of the blue just because we were being friendly.
  5. You have to keep ALL of your coupon inserts because you never know when a “deal” might be available on something you may not normally buy but will if the price is right.
  6. Krazy Coupon Lady’s advice is to get to know one store at a time. This is so true if you try to coupon at to many places when you are a beginner, it can be very intimidating. I am currently getting to know CVS’s system and next Target.
  7. You have to stock up when you can get really good deals so you never have to buy something at regular price!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I went to CVS with my list and coupons, unfortunately I am a beginner so I wasn’t going to get deals and stock up I was on the hunt for things I needed… it 2 took transactions but I got all this for $54 here is the break down of what each item cost after coupons. I don’t feel like I got “steals” but I got some good deals.

First Transaction

  • PGE products- $10 cvs bucks when $30 is spent
  • Dawn- .97
  • Bounty- 9.88 (.25 coupon)=$ 9.63
  • 2 Tide 40oz- Sale 5.94 ( $1 coupon) 4.94= $9.88
  • 2 Puffs-  $1.98
  • 3 Old Spice Deodorant- 4 ea ($4 coupons) 2.67ea.= $8
  • Aveeno product- Buy 3 get $10 in cvs bucks
  • Aveeno Face Cleanser- 7.99 ($1 coupon)= 6.99
  • Aveeno Make up remover wipes- 8.49 ($1 coupon)= 7.49
  • Aveeno Baby wash- 9.49 ($1 coupon)= 8.49

$10 OFF a $40 purchase at cvs, emailed to me after my last purchase used! Yay

Total spent= $ 43.43 before tax and had $20 cvs bucks to spend on my next purchase

Second Transaction

  • (2)Dove 6pk- 2 for $14
  • Pampers Baby wipes 3pk- $5.99
  • Finish Dishwasher Detergent Buy one get on 1/2 off, $6.99 & $3.49

My final cost on this transaction was $10.47 after my $20 cvs bucks was used.

** Looking back I would have done a better job with my second transaction and bought things that were on sale AND had coupons to make the most of my cvs bucks.

“Practice makes perfect” I am learning and definitely getting the system down. Hopefully each week I will have better and better deals to show off.

❤ Sarah

6 thoughts on “Learning How To Coupon

  1. You’ll get the hang of it. You will also find as your stockpile grows that you’re able to save money because you don’t have to buy stockpile items. I currently have 10lbs of margarine that went on sale (for $.49- HALF OFF) in my freezer…lol. I won’t need to buy it again for at LEAST 3 months!

    And the free thing…especially with food, I have found is GROSSLY over promoted. For the FIRST TIME EVER I was able to get something 100% FREE the other day and I’ve been couponing for 2 years. Those deals are few and far between.

      • It is! I went completely overboard with liquid dish soap when I first started. Two years later I just had to buy some again…lol! Honestly, it seems like the deals were a bit better a few years ago when I started, but I am still able to find some good stuff out there.

        When you mentioned you have to be organized, have you started a system yet? I prefer the 3 ring binder with baseball card holders in it.

  2. These are great tips for beginners! Half of the time I just don’t want to bother with it. I like the idea of getting to know one store at a time. I also think you have to have a list or idea of what products you buy all the time so you can stock up when they are on sale.

    • I agree with knowing what you need and stocking up on those items! I get not wanting bother with it… its is very time consuming AND my shopping trips take longer now. I am hoping it will become less of a bother as I get better at it. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

