Almost Healthy Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

There was a period of time when I always had bananas getting over ripe on me because no one was eating them, but I just kept buying them. So I was making a lot of banana muffins and banana bread. I wanted something that was a little better for us then plain old banana muffins but I couldn’t find anything. So I played around and came up with a recipe that we love. My son is funny he told me “I just can’t stop eating them they are so good.”

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

  • 3/4c White Sugar
  • 6tb Softened Coconut Oil
  • 4tb Ground Flax Seed
  • 1tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 2 Eggs
  • 3 Ripe Bananas
  • 1c All Purpose Flour
  • 1c Whole Wheat Flour
  • 1tsp Salt
  • 1tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2c Chocolate Chips

Mix together your sugar, coconut oil, flax seed, vanilla extract and eggs. It will be a very thick batter at this point.

Banana batter

Next add your bananas and mix until the banana is all mashed up. It will look more like a batter at this point.

Adding Bananas with bananas

Its time to add all of your dry ingredients and mix just until they are incorporated. You never want to over mix your muffins.

Adding Flour

Now we can stir in our chocolate chips. In these muffins I prefer the mini chocolate chips but I only had normal sized morsels. And that’s a wrap for your batter.

Finished Batter

For these muffins I made some that were mini muffins, perfect size for toddler hands. Then I made extra large muffins for us adults for breakfast. Fill your paper cups 2/3 full and pop in the oven. I baked my mini muffins for 16 minutes at 350 and my extra large muffins for 23 minutes. Like most baked goods you want your test stick to come clean to ensure your muffins are done.

Mini Muffins Large Muffins

Warm muffins out of the oven make me all warm and happy inside! My oldest son couldn’t keep his hands away from the cooling rack so there are quite a few missing compared to what initially went into the oven.

Finished Banana Muffins

❤ Sarah

 

2 thoughts on “Almost Healthy Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

