Homemade Teriyaki Sauce

When it comes to meals served in my kitchen I have a tendency to lean towards things that can be thrown over rice or rolled up in a tortilla. I just can’t help it. I had some salmon fillets in the freezer and was really craving a teriyaki bowl. This meant I had to make some teriyaki sauce because I haven’t bought teriyaki sauce in years after I ran across this homemade teriyaki sauce recipe.  I had no idea how easy it was to make teriyaki sauce, and cheap. Teriyaki sauce in the stores can be $5 a bottle. That is expensive to me for a sauce.

Homemade Teriyaki Sauce

  • 1 1/2c water
  • 3/4c brown sugar
  • 1/2c soy sauce
  • 1tsp garlic powder
  • 3tb corn starch

Mix all your ingredients together in a sauce pan and cook on medium until your sauce begins to thicken. I usually cook my for about 10 minutes.

Homemade Teriyaki Sauce

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now, have fun with the endless possibilities. We used this recipe to marinate our deer steaks, teriyaki chicken or salmon bowls, stir fry… whatever your taste buds desire. If you have leftovers place them in an airtight container and store in the refrigerator for about a week.

Once my teriyaki sauce was made I had a little extra time so I went ahead and put my salmon fillets in a ziplock bag with some teriyaki sauce and let them marinate in the fridge for about 30 minutes. Once I was ready to cook them I put down some foil on a cookie sheet and then laid my fillets down and brushed them with more teriyaki sauce. Now they are ready to cook. I cooked mine at 400 degrees for 15 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We steamed broccoli and cauliflower and also made some white rice for our teriyaki bowls. So easy and good!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had about 1/2 a jar left of teriyaki sauce so we will be using that in the next few days for chicken stir fry, there is no way I am going to let my leftover sauce go to waste!

❤ Sarah

Leave a Reply

