Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins

This recipe could actually be considered a cake. It’s very rich. The kids loved it but my husband turned his nose up at it until I asked him to be a taste tester. All I asked him to do was to take a bite and let me know what he thought… he didn’t have just one bite. He of course ate the whole thing and then said they were pretty good. I ate two in one sitting, not exactly a good idea! I saved a recipe from a Costco magazine in 2009 and barely got around to trying it out. The original recipe was for a Lemon bread. I wanted muffins without a frosting so I tweaked it a bit and this is what I came up with.

Here is what you need

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

  • 1 1/2c flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 6 tbs softened butter
  • 1c white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2c milk
  • zest and juice of 1 small lemon
  • 1/8c poppy seed

First whisk together your flour, salt and baking powder and set aside. Now mix together your butter, sugar and eggs until they are fluffy.

Now its time to zest your lemon. Once that is done juice your lemon. Add you zest and juice into your butter mixture and mix.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Add your flour, poppy seeds and milk. And you guessed it… mix together until everything is incorporated.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This recipe will give you enough batter to make 12 muffins.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Its time to throw these puppies in the oven for about 20 minutes at 350.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And here they are yummy and lemony, making me feel all springy inside.

❤ Sarah

Leave a Reply

