CrockPot Cocktail Meatballs And Mocha Cake

I know what you are thinking… Gosh this girl is obsessed with her crockpot. Well, your right I am. I like anything that helps make my job as a wife, mother, housekeeper, cook, financial adviser, and many other jobs easier. You can cook about anything in a crockpot and its usually super easier and tasty.

My contributions to todays super bowl party (well not a party we just laid low) were cocktail meatballs and a mocha cake that is almost a brownie recipe. I’ll start by giving you my meatball recipe. Its my favorite I have made so far. This was the second time I did them this way and they are delicious. In this recipe I use my homemade pepper jam that I can every year. You can substitute pepper jam with grape jelly or apricot jam, whatever tickles your fancy.

1 bag of frozen meatballs (the small meatballs are better as appetizers), 8oz jar of cocktail sauce, 8oz jar of pepper jam, 1/4c of bbq sauce. Throw your meatballs into your crockpot, then pour in your cocktail sauce, jam and bbq sauce. Stir it all together until each meatball is covered in sauce. Now you are ready to cover and set your crockpot to low and cook for about 4 hours. That’s it… like I said so easy!

Cocktail Meatball Ing Cocktail MeatBalls

Now on to this mocha cake. I found the original recipe in a Cooking Light magazine. I have made some adjustments to fit my likings. I am going to share my version of this recipe. I love it because I always have leftover coffee in my pot from that morning and we buy our chocolate chips in bulk at Costco so it’s very convenient to throw this cake together.

  • 1 1/2c packed brown sugar
  • 1c flour
  • 5tbs cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2c brewed coffee
  • 1/2c butter
  • 1/2c chocolate chips
  • 2 eggs

1. Take your butter and chocolate chips and put them together in a microwave safe bowl and microwave for 30 seconds on high. Remove them and stir, then microwave them for another 30 seconds.

2. Put your melted butter/chocolate chip mixture in your mixer bowl and add in all your wet ingredients. That is eggs, coffee and vanilla. mix well.

3. Add in your dry ingredients and mix.

4. Place your batter into a greased 8×8 dish if you want it thick or a 9×9 dish if you prefer the cake a tad bit thinner. Personally I don’t care I love the cake either way! Now your are ready to bake it for about 40 minutes or until a test stick comes out clean at 350 degrees.

*If you want to make it look professional dust your cake with a little powder sugar.

Sorry I don’t have any pictures of this cake. Please just trust me when I tell you its good and you should make it the next time you have left over coffee!

❤ Sarah

Leave a Reply

