Goat Stew With Homemade Bread

My parents have chickens, turkeys, goats and sheep on their little farm. It’s so much fun the kids love going to visit. They knew when they started raising animals that they weren’t just for show  that they would be butchering some to eat. Up until the past few months we had only had their chicken and turkey, but they had a goat that was giving them trouble and getting a little old. Short story shorter they had someone come out and take care of the goat and take it to a butcher. It just so happened that the butcher was closest to my house so I got to go pick up all the meat when it was ready. AND I have a large freezer so I got to keep all the meat at my house. It’s very convenient to have lot of meat at your finger tips.

As I said yesterday we have gotten a little rain so I thought it was a perfect day for some goat stew and some homemade bread for dinner. I never seem to make my stew exactly the same. My husband said this one was his favorite. If you don’t have goat you could also use beef.

First I got all my ingredients ready then I seasoned my goat pieces with salt and pepper and put them in a skillet with butter and browned the meat. For the stew I used about a pound of meat, 4 large potatoes, one yellow onion chopped, two cups of baby carrots, a can of beef broth and a can of Progreso’s recipe starters in fire roasted tomato.

Stew IngridientsGoat Browning

I put the carrots and potatoes in the crock pot and then the onion. Once the meat was browned I threw that in and then I poured the broth and recipe starter on top. Put the lid on and then I cooked it on high for 5 hours and then on low for 2. This goat meat is pretty tough so it really needs a good long cook.

Goat Stew

Then I was on to getting my bread started. Bread is really not hard to make maybe just a little time consuming. I am in no way a bread expert, or really and expert in anything, but I will try my hand at just about anything. Here is the bread recipe I used.

2c warm water, 2 1/4 tsp yeast, 2/3c shortening, 2/3 white sugar, 1tsp salt, 1 egg, 6c bread flour

First take your yeast and add it to your 2c warm water, let it dissolve. This is called softening your yeast.

Softening Yeast

Once you have dissolved your yeast  put it in your mixer and add in your shortening, sugar, salt and egg. Mix it together then add in 3 cups of flour. Mix it all together real good.

Mixing in the Yeast

Now you are ready to switch to you dough hook and add your remaining 3c of flour. I usually let it mix until the dough wants to ball up around the hook. Once that has happened take your dough out and form a ball and set it in a greased bowl. Roll the ball of dough around so its coated in your oil. Cover it and let sit.

Finished Dough Getting Ready To Rise

I usually have to let it sit for about an hour and a half. The rule is that the dough is supposed to double in size. I never get that lucky.

First Rise

Once the dough looks like it has nearly doubled in size you can now start the next part. This is to form your loaf or rolls. I made 2 loafs. To make a loaf you roll the dough out into a rectangle and then roll the rectangle and tuck the ends under. This will help you to have a pretty loaf once its baked. Then you will let your dough rise again. I was running short on time so I only let my dough rise for a half an hour. It should again nearly double in size.

Rise Part 2

Once you have let it rise again you can start the baking process. Cook it at 350 for about 40 minutes. It will smell sooooo good. There aren’t many things that are tastier than homemade bread with butter spread on top.

148

After all that work you will have a delicious dinner. And throughout the day your house will smell so cozy! A perfect rainy day meal.

149

❤ Sarah

Leave a Reply

