My Easy Weeknight Enchiladas

If you are looking for an “Authentic” Enchilada recipe please stop reading now. 🙂 But if you are looking for something delicious and easy to serve your family read on!

I grew up on beef, red sauce and corn tortilla enchiladas. My mom can make some kick ass enchiladas! But as I got older I was introduced to chicken, green sauce and flour tortilla enchiladas. And I quickly became a very big fan. I never even knew these existed until my mother in law made them for a family event.

Over the past few years I have played with this recipe and I have to admit I never seem to make them exactly the same. But, one thing I have perfected is making this process as simple as possible so that if the craving hits I can make a pan for dinner.

Making the filling is super easy. The basic recipe I use is 2 chicken breast seasoned with salt, pepper and taco seasoning. I throw this in the crock pot with a jar of salsa. Cook on high for 4 hours, shred the chicken and then drain some of the extra juice out. This time I added a cup and a half of frozen corn, a 7oz can of diced green chilies a can of rinsed black beans. I have been known in the past to throw in 2 cups of cooked white rice. Really anything goes, get creative!

ChickenMixture

Warm up your flour tortillas.

Warm Tortillas

Next I get everything else ready. Half a pound of sharp cheddar cheese shredded, a large can of green enchilada sauce poured into something that fits your tortillas, a 9×13 baking pan, your warmed tortillas and your chicken mixture.

Ingredients

Now its time to get your hands dirty! Take a tortilla drop it into the enchilada sauce and make sure you get it completely coated in the sauce on both sides.

12076019363_bc62b11b59

Drop it into your pan and fill it with your chicken mixture and the sprinkle on some cheese.

12076348606_f61f3a0190

Roll that baby up.

12076099484_566c529350

Do this until your pan is full. My pan fit 8 enchiladas.

12076333686_e6802e98b8

Pour some leftover green sauce on top and sprinkle with cheese. And your done! So quick and easy. After the chicken is done the process takes no more than 30 minutes. You can cook now or put into the fridge to cook later. I like to get my enchiladas ready early in the day so at dinner all I have to do is pop them in the oven. I set my oven to 350 and cook until the cheese is melted and the enchiladas are starting to either get bubbly (that’s if you used a lot of green sauce) or if your tortillas are starting to brown. (This is if you skimped on the sauce)

12075685995_d0725302bb

I always have left over filling. You can either put together a small pan of enchiladas or set the filling aside for tacos, quesadillas or burritos the next day. This is what I normally do. You wont want to let an ounce of this go to waste its just to good! Today I helped myself to corn chips dipped in my left over chicken filling and then threw the rest in the fridge.

Chip 12076067974_75e3d6b1a3

Enjoy, I know we will!

❤ Sarah

One thought on “My Easy Weeknight Enchiladas

  1. Pingback: Red Sauce Enchiladas | Life In The Orchard

Leave a Reply

